Ohio Third OVI Impaired Offense
The chart below outlines the penalties for a third offense OVI when:
- You do not have a prior OVI conviction within 10 years of the date of your current charge.
- You did not submit to a chemical test.
- You did submit a chemical test, but it was under the .08 legal limit.
This offense is known as the OVI Impaired offense. Almost everyone charged with OVI in Ohio is charged with the Impaired offense.
You may also be charged with other offenses in addition to the Impaired offense if:
- You took chemical test
- You refused a Chemical test and have a prior OVI conviction within 20 years of the date of this offense.
If any of the above apply to you, after you have reviewed the below chart go back to the previous page and click on the other offense or offenses that may apply to you.
Or download the PDF Chart of all possible Third Offense OVI Offense Penalties which can be accessed below this chart.
3rd OVI Impaired Offense Penalty Chart
|Jail||30 days to 1 year jail|
|License Suspension||2 years to 12 years|
|Hard Time period – no driving privileges||180 days|
|Fine||$850 to $2750|
|Interlock on Car (Blow & Go)||Mandatory. Or, if drug OVI, at judge’s discretion.|
|Alcohol Assessment – and Treatment||Mandatory|
|90 Day vehicle immobilization plus vehicle is subject to forfeiture.|
|Alcohol Monitoring (SCRAM) mandatory if driving privileges are authorized.|
|View/Print this chart in PDF|
Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Charts & Information.
Administrative License Suspension (ALS). In most cases the officer already took your driver’s license and placed you under an ALS Suspension or, if you took a urine or blood test, you will face an ALS when the result comes back.
Click here for specifics about your ALS suspension and appealing it chose which of the below applies to you.
View/Print Penalty Chart for All OVI Third Offense Charges
Click here to access a pdf that outlines the penalties for all OVI charges that can possible apply to someone with a Third Offense in 10 years.