Ohio First OVI Impaired Offense
The chart below outlines the penalties for a first offense OVI when:
- You do not have a prior OVI conviction within 10 years of the date of your current charge.
- You did not submit to a chemical test and do not have a prior OVI within 20 years
- You did submit a chemical test, but it was under the .08 legal limit.
This offense is known as the OVI Impaired offense. Almost everyone charged with OVI in Ohio is charged with the Impaired offense.
You may also be charged with other offenses in addition to the Impaired offense if:
- You took chemical test
- You refused a Chemical test and have a prior OVI conviction within 20 years of the date of this offense.
If any of the above apply to you, after you have reviewed the below chart go back to the previous page and click on the other offense or offenses that may apply to you.
Or download the PDF Chart of all possible First Offense OVI Offense Penalties which can be accessed below this chart.
1st OVI Impaired Offense Penalty Chart
|Jail||3 days* to 180 days jail|
|License Suspension||1 year ** to 3 years|
|Hard Time period – no driving privileges||15 days|
|Fine||$375 to $1075|
|Party Plates||At judge’s discretion|
|Interlock on Car (Blow & Go)||At judge’s discretion|
|Alcohol Assessment||At judge’s discretion|
|*Judge can permit 72 hour Driver’s Intervention Programs (DIP) in lieu of 3 days in jail|
|** See Optional First Offense Interlock Restricted License below|
|View/Print this chart in PDF|
**First Offense Interlock Restricted License. The judge has ability to reduce license suspension by one half and allow “unlimited driving privileges” but you will need to install an interlock device and there are big risks and potential mandatory jail time that could result. We may be able to reduce your suspension without interlock. Contact us to discuss this or see Ohio OVI Defense: the Law & Practice.